We’re Alive!!

Ok, so I haven’t blogged here in a bajillion years. And by “bajillion years” I mean since the wedding last October. Honestly, I didn’t think our lives were all that exciting post-nuptial: We bummed around for a couple weeks, had Grand Central Station in our apartment, went on our honeymoon, and sank in to the mindless stupor that is 9-to-5 work.

Then I got laid off. Suddenly, I had time on my hands! I shinyed up the food blog, plumtomato.wordpress.com, picked my crafts back up, read up to my ears in books, and got to work building my at-home empire: freelance editorial, cooking, baking, crafting, and books. The touchstones of my world. I’m happier than ever.

In July, we started the process of buying a house. We got pre-approved, we looked around, we attended an open house, we made an appointment with a real estate agent, and put an offer on said house. That was July. It is now October, and we’re finally getting to the “home” (haha, I crack myself up) stretch. Purchase & sale. Loan. Packing. Moving. All that great stuff. It took half the year, but we might finally get our first home. I’m hoping to shake the dust of the rental apartment off my feet by New Year’s Eve, so we can start 2010 free of these people.

I got to the point where I wanted to start blogging again, and I missed being able to write regularly and share my thoughts with people. I’ve been sharing my thoughts on food, restaurants, and cooking, certainly, but there’s more in my life than that. So let’s dust this puppy off and see where it takes us, shall we?

Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts

Leave a Reply

