More Things I Won’t Miss About Renting

1. The “outgoing mail” slot that isn’t wide enough to accommodate a greeting card. Usually I just send it to work with Jim and have him drop it off in one of the blue postal boxes at the hospital, but this morning I just wasn’t so on top of stuff. I ended up having to (carefully) jam the envelope in to a gap in the door of the outgoing mail box, and I’m hoping it stays in place long enough for the postman to come. If it’s any consolation (and it is…) my next greeting card will probably be sent from a *real* mailbox at the new house…

2. People in the hallway, and the idea of a common hallway in general. I jump everytime I hear keys jingling in the hallway outside the door. I’m not a fan of living so close to people that I can overhear their conversations and smell what they’re making for dinner or what scent of candle they’re burning. I like fish, sure, but I like it when I cook it, not when the person at the end of the hallway cooks it. And you might think your cinnamon apple pie-scented candle is just the best thing since sliced bread, but when it’s all I can smell from the moment I open my own door, and the scent is so intense it burns the smell receptors in my nose, then you might need to take it down a notch. I can never smell my own food beyond my own door, even the time I slow-cooked a side of corned beef.

Leave a comment

Filed under stuff, the house

Leave a Reply

