Goal 2012, #1: Reading Shakespeare

We’ve all done it, or said we’ve done it — read Shakespeare. I’ve read quite a bit, I’ve retained very little, and I want to re-experience the Bard of Avon now in a new way: as chronologically written.

Here, to help me out, are Shakespeare’s works in the chronological order in which they were first performed. In bold, plays I’ve read before, or more than once before, and can remember having read.

Henry VI, Part II
Henry VI, Part III
Henry VI, Part I
Richard III
Comedy of Errors
Titus Andronicus
Taming of the Shrew
Two Gentlemen of Verona
Love’s Labour’s Lost
Romeo and Juliet
Richard II
A Midsummer Night’s Dream
King John
The Merchant of Venice
Henry IV, Part I
Henry IV, Part II
Much Ado About Nothing
Henry V
Julius Caesar
As You Like It
Twelfth Night
The Merry Wives of Windsor
Troilus and Cressida
All’s Well That Ends Well
Measure for Measure
King Lear
Antony and Cleopatra
Timon of Athens
The Winter’s Tale
The Tempest
Henry VIII


Leave a comment

Filed under stuff

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s