C25k: Week 1, Day 1

Couch-2-5k: Week 1, Day 1
Robert Ullrey Podcast Week 1

Pedometer Steps: 3,589

Stats from RunKeeper:

  • Total Distance: 2.01 mi
  • Duration: 28m,  41s
  • Avg Pace: 14:15 min/mi
  • Avg Speed: 4.21 mph

I sorely underestimated the distance on this first run. I knew that I would be roughly 25-30 minutes of walking and running — 90 second and 60 second intervals, respectively, with 5 mins of warm up and 5 mins of cool down — but I didn’t think that would equal 2 miles! I thought it would equal about a mile and a half, so I had to tack on 2 extra neighborhood blocks for my last interval and the cool down.

The first interval was tough. By the fifth interval I was feeling okay. At the sixth interval I started to feel the nagging stomach/left side pain I’ve been experiencing during runs since I was in elementary school. At the seventh interval I simultaneously wanted to throttle Mr Ullrey and bless him for being so thorough and encouraging, and at the eighth interval the thought of a shower and bowl full of eggs, cheese, and spinach & a slice of brown bread was the only thing keeping one foot in front of the other.

This gets easier, right? 😛

Pre-Run Fuel: medium banana, S’Mores LUNA Bar

Post-Run Snack: skim double-shot latte with cinnamon, Messy Microwave Omelette (1 egg + 1 egg white + 1 Laughing Cow Lite Swiss + small handful of spinach), brown bread

3 Comments

Filed under fitness

3 responses to “C25k: Week 1, Day 1

  1. So proud of you! And, yes, it does get easier. The first run is definitely the hardest. Here’s hoping that you’re addicted to the runner’s high soon enough! :0)

    BTW, do you have a race in mind, or are you doing this for fun? :0)

    • Rachel

      Oh, Jenn, you’re so funny! “Doing this for fun..” HAHA. ❤ you.

      No, no race in mind, I was just looking for a challenge. I needed an activity that was fairly cheap & easy to keep up. There's a Tory Row 5k in Cambridge in early June (probably too early for me, but you never know) and Meghan says there's a Louisa May Alcott 5k in September…I could maybe do that one. I dunno, the thought of actually running for 5KMs right now is still a scary thought!

      • I started running when I was 14 because I also needed an inexpensive way to stay in shape. Well, almost 20 years later, I am happy to say that I do run for fun (and fitness). So, maybe you’ll feel the same way in a few years. :0)

        If you’re looking for someone to run a 5K with in the late summer/early fall, I’m your girl. I became quite addicted to 5Ks last year and am itching to get back into them. I know that it’s going to take me some time to get back into runner’s shape, though. I haven’t been cleared to run yet (hopefully will be by the end of this week), but have been walking about 4 miles or so every day on the treadmill to keep up with my stamina. There is also a great 5K in Providence in September. I’d be happy to run with you, if you’re looking for a partner. I’m always looking to beat my personal best. 5Ks are also nice little races to participate in as they aren’t too strenuous and provide a running goal.

Leave a Reply

