Wine, Meet Toast

Yesterday I made my second batch of wine-based jelly. The recipe is unbelievably easy, if you aren’t afraid of boiling water or home canning, which I’m really not.

Batch #1 was made with a 2009 Italian pinot noir. I don’t like pinot noir to drink, and I don’t like most red wine at all, to be honest with you. But turn it in to a jelly and I am all on that bandwagon. Intense vigorous boiling boils off the booze, so at first your kitchen smells like a distillery, but it means the end result is all flavor, no headache. (Hurrah!)

Batch #2 was made with a 2010 California riesling. Riesling is a very popular wine in our house, because it is usually a sweeter, fruitier wine to begin with. German rieslings come in three types, kabinett, spetlese, and auslese. For a German riesling, I would stick to kabinett, the least-sweet of the types. New World rieslings don’t have the same typification, so any wine labelled “riesling” should do. I chose something that had a pleasing color in the bottle, and that was fairly cheap.

If you chose a riesling from the Pacific Northwest rather than California, I think it would probably be more minerally in flavor, and I’m not sure how that would translate in to jelly. You probably want to avoid slate-y wines and stick to fruitier ones. This is, after all, jelly. The recipe I used calls for fruity, full-bodied reds, but I’m pretty pleased with the riesling variety. I also think a rosé would be good, and I’d like to work my way up to champagne jelly.

But also, don’t let me stop you from experimenting! If there’s a wine out there you like, it would probably be a pretty darn good jelly.

This is an America’s Test Kitchen recipe. That practically guarantees how easy, simple, and delicious it is, right? You do have to log in to view the recipe, but it’s free and ATK is just the most awesome thing to happen for home cooks since Julia, so I’d rather make you all support them. 🙂

Wine jelly is divine on multigrain toast. I have also heard rumor that it is a delight paired with cheese, just as wine can be paired with cheese. As part of a continental cheese & fruit plate dessert, perhaps?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

